Bible Never Mentions Purgatory


Becca:Also the Bible never makes mention of Purgatory, it states in John 14:6 that “no one comes to the Father, but by me.”

BFHU:Of course we agree that Jesus is the Way to the Father. But you are basing your belief in Christ Alone on a Protestant tradition and not on the whole Bible. This is prooftexting.

Becca:Not by Purgatory,

BFHU: You might want to take a look at my post here–>Where is Purgatory is Scripture?

Becca:not by sacraments,

BFHU:How about the sacrament of:

Baptism:1 Peter 3:21Corresponding to that, baptism now saves you

Eucharist: In order to attain eternal life:

John 6: 47“Truly, truly, I say to you, he who believes has eternal life.
48″I am the bread of life 49″Your fathers ate the manna in the wilderness, and they died.
50″This is the bread which comes down out of heaven, so that one may eat of it and not die.
51″I am the living bread that came down out of heaven; if anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread also which I will give for the life of the world is My flesh.” 52Then the Jews began to argue with one another, saying, “How can this man give us His flesh to eat?”
53 So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in yourselves.
54“He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.
55″For My flesh is true food, and My blood is true drink.
56″He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood abides in Me, and I in him.
57″As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who eats Me, he also will live because of Me.
58″This is the bread which came down out of heaven; not as the fathers ate and died; he who eats this bread will live forever.”

Becca:not by confession,
BFHU: Then why do you think Jesus gave the apostles the authority to forgive or not forgive sins? Why did He institute the sacrament of confession then?

John 20: 21 So Jesus said to them again, Peace be with you; as the Father has sent Me, I also send you.” 22And when He had said this, He breathed on them and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit. 23“If you forgive the sins of any, their sins have been forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they have been retained.”

These men cannot pronounce forgiveness or not without audibly hearing a confession of sin.

    Becca:not by works but by Christ alone do we get to heaven.
    Your statement above flatly contradicts St. James:

    James 2:14-25 14What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him?faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead. 19 You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.

    20 You foolish man, do you want evidence that faith without deeds is useless? 21 Was not our ancestor Abraham considered righteous for what he did when he offered his son Isaac on the altar? 22 You see that his faith and his actions were working together, and his faith was made complete by what he did. 23 And the scripture was fulfilled that says, “Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness,” and he was called God’s friend. 24 You see that a person is justified by what he does and NOT by faith alone.

Leave a Reply

