Conversation Between an Ex-Catholic and a Catholic Convert

Q. I would like to converse with you. Look forward to hearing from you. It has been a long time.

A. I would love to converse with you about my conversion or the Catholic Faith. I have the fondest memories of you and M.

But let me warn you, a five word question can take paragraphs to answer thoroughly if not pages. Also, I will give a link to a post on my site when that will save me time if I have a post dealing with your question. Or I might just copy and paste it. I will start with your questions..

Catholicism

Q. Why does the Roman Catholic Church claim to be the only true church of the God of the Bible
?

A. Because Jesus said to Peter, “You are Rock and on this Rock I will build my Church.” There is no mention of churches. No desire for diversity of belief and practice. But rather Jesus’ stated desire for unity.

John 17 :11 I will remain in the world no longer, but they are still in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, protect them by the power of your name—the name you gave me—so that they may be one as we are one. 21that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. 22I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one: 23I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

Q. Why do you believe that only Catholics therefore will attain to the resurrection (I know they don’t freely admit to this but I believe it is an official church position).

A. No, it is not the official position of the Church at all. In fact, the belief that only Catholics will attain the resurrection would be heretical. Please see my post below.

No Salvation Outside the Catholic Church

The Catholic Church considers all the baptized part of the Body of Christ and accepts all Christian Baptism in the Name of the Father the Son and the Holy Spirit. When I came into the Catholic Church they did not baptize me because they considered my baptism valid.

Just last summer the Pope and the Congregation for the Doctrine of Faith came out with a clarification on this issue. You can see my post here→ The Church and Ecclesial Communities

You can see the actual Vatican document here→ Some Questions..
Because of Jesus’ statement in John 17 the Catholic Church teaches that there is only one Church, the Church that Jesus founded on Peter. The churches founded by Martin Luther, John Calvin, John Knox, or Chuck Smith are ecclesial communities. We believe all baptized, faithful Protestants are a part of the body of Christ.

The Catholic Church has so much to offer to help us on our journey to Heaven. Grace imparted in the sacraments, Saints and their writings that guide us in how to grow in holiness, examinations of conscience, spiritual retreats, prayers and devotions.

Leave a Reply

