Proponents of Women’s Ordination just don’t get it!

Mantilla-twitch to Fr. Z who posted a request to weigh in on a survey about womens’ ordination. If the poll is still open, please vote no.

The Archbishop of Cincinnati has banned a nun from teaching in the Archdiocese.

Why?

She supports Women’s Ordination.

Problem?

Yes, indeed! Catholics are supposed to be Catholic. In addition to weekly Sunday Mass and regular Confession, Catholics are meant to adhere to church teaching.

That means all of it.

While there are a few things that I have some difficulty with, which is probably true with everyone, it’s one thing to have thoughts in my head. It’s another for others to know what they are. I’m not in a position to speak for, or to appear to be speaking for the Church; however, I don’t discuss those things with which I struggle. If I did? Pastor, Spiritual Director and Confessor are those with whom I may discuss these things. They’re not for public consumption.

If I worked for the church or volunteered with religious education, it would be a problem for me to allow my difficult areas to be known; public dissent would be inappropriate.

How much more inappropriate, then, is it for a professed religious to speak publicly against church teaching? A nun or religious sister has professed vows, usually including obedience; in addition to obeying church teaching, she must obey her superiors in her order. In turn, her order must obey the Bishop in whose territory it operates. That means that public dissent from church teaching is forbidden. If she is told to publicly recant, she must do so.

The nun in this story refuses. While she’s willing to remove her name from a webpage advocating for Women’s Ordination, she refuses Archbishop Pilarczyk’s requirement that she publicly recant. He, with good reason and with authority, properly bans her from teaching in his Archdiocese.

Her supporters bring up her 40 years of teaching, which is material only inasmuch as she has had 40 years to spread her dissent within the church. It’s no wonder that people are confused. The fact that she has taught for 40 years in no way relates to the fact that she is publicly advocating for something that is outside of church teaching. The Church is not a Democracy!

She says it’s about equality. It isn’t. It’s about wanting what you can’t have. If she thinks women’s ordination is that important, she should leave her order and join a church that ordains women.

The Church is true to Christ. Why settle for anything less?

3 Responses to Proponents of Women’s Ordination just don’t get it!

  1. Thank you for posting a position with integrity. I was beginning to think there were no members of the Church who would speak out with such a clear understanding of what is right and wrong. Many hold your view, but few are ready to speak out.
    Deaconess Cheryl D. Naumann
    http://www.deaconesshistory.org

  2. aboriente says:

    This was an issue that snuck up on me all of a sudden long time ago. In our religious community there was no discussion about women in the priesthood. Women simply were not to be priestesses.

    Then some started talking about “why not ” and “some are more educated than most of the priests we have” and that there was the chance of contributing something to the pastoral preaching because “they bring a woman’s perspective to the priesthood.”

    I had not thought about it, and what was being mentioned made sense… especially since I was not strong enough in the knowledge of my faith to answer the first question… “why not?”

    In researching our patristics, and our Church theology, and our apologetics, I found the answer… and I did not stop with just ours, but also researched the Catholic {at the time I was not in the Catholic Church} and the Orthodox sources. The answer is “No”.

    That is my short story about my first experience with this issue. I was re-affirmed when I saw the backlash against Pope Benedict’s election, where some of these “catholic” women were interviewed on the news and complained that now they would not be allowed to be priests because the pope would take the church back to the dark medieval ages. What I found is many claiming the right to be in the priesthood because of how much they’ve contributed and done. There was a lot of “I” in their statements, and not enough acknowledgements that God is the source of all good and the Church is the Body and Bride of Christ and does not “owe” anything to anyone.

    I have a teaching role in our church community. The first thing I had to understand and to live was that “it is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me.” I cannot have my own values apart from the church and in my teaching role especially, must submit my beliefs to the will of God and be of one will and teaching with Him… that is the teaching of the Church.

    If this sister is so far removed from Christ that her teaching stands opposed to the Church’s, especially, in a teaching so apostolic that Christ Himself did not appoint the Blessed Virgin Mary as a priestess, then I can only think that it is not the Holy Spirit that fills her and moves her to speak.

  3. diane says:

    Beautiful reflection, aboriente!

Leave a Reply

