New Auxiliary Bishop for the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis

lee_picheWe will soon have a new Auxiliary Bishop in the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis!

Since June of 2008, Father Piché has been the Moderator of the Curia and Vicar General for the Most Reverend John C. Nienstedt, Archbishop of Saint Paul and Minneapolis. The ordination is being planned for June 29, the Feast of the Apostles Peter and Paul, at the Saint Paul Cathedral.

“I am honored and humbled by the Holy Father’s confidence in me,” Piché said of his appointment. “This is a great Archdiocese, with many blessed and talented individuals, parishes, and institutions, and with some significant challenges, too. I am grateful to God for calling me to serve in this way. Since receiving this news, I have been praying that God will strengthen me to be faithful in the ministry of bishop.”

“It will be a privilege for me to offer another kind of assistance to Archbishop Nienstedt, whom I have come to admire and respect greatly during my time as Vicar General. He works hard and communicates well, often, and clearly. You always know where you stand with him. He will be a good mentor for me,” Piché stated.

And just so you know? His role isn’t limited to that of “confirmation machine” according to Fr. Erickson from the Office of Worship. Which is good because if that were the case, he wouldn’t have much to do in the off-season, would he?

Source: Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis

Leave a Reply

