The Daily Maronite: The Announcement to the Virgin Mary

The Announcement to the Virgin Mary

 

After the Announcement to Zechariah, Elizabeth conceived and she kept to herself for five months.On the sixth month, we have a new announcement, this time to the virgin Mary who would become the mother of God.

What do we learn from the Announcement passage (Luke 1:26-38)?
I would like to meditate on 4 things:

1- We have good news: The angel said to Mary: “Rejoice”. Wow. This is good news. “You will conceive and bear a son, Jesus.”When I go to Mass, I receive good news: I hear the gospel, I receive communion. I encounter my GOD and the good news are: “Anthony, you will bear Jesus in your heart.”

2- We have dialogue between God and Man: Mary was deeply disturbed by the angel’s words. She was disturbed in the Presence of God’s unique call to her. Mother of God? WOW. A dialogue began. Mary asked “what this greeting could mean?” “How can this come about?”I felt also disturbed when God called me, when He brought me good news that I would become one day missionary, good news that I would bear Jesus in my heart and give him to all.I built a dialogue with Him. “What this greeting could mean? What this sign could mean? What this word (that I heard from this or that person) that touched me could mean? What this Presence that I feel could mean? What these events that I experienced could mean? How can this come about? I am not talented. I have no Master’s degree. I am not a politician. I am not a leader. How can this be?” But nothing is impossible with God.
Our God (the God of Christianity) is a God of dialogue. I am allowed to ask Him and I can hear His response. Our God did not give us a book saying, “Take this and stick to it. No more dialogue.” This is not what our God is about. This is a dictator. A god that does not listen. He cannot dialogue with his creatures. My God is different. My God speaks & listens.

3- We have a virgin in union with God: If I remain in Him, I will bear much fruit. When Eve turned her back on God, she gave the world the fruit of death and sin entered this world. But Mary, who was in union with God (The Father covered her. The Son dwelt in her. The Holy Spirit came upon her. She was the perfect temple that I long to be) gave the world the fruit of life and salvation. I want to remain in union with the Trinity. Without Him I can do nothing.
The world has fruits (other than sins). In this world we have competitions, who is the most beautiful, the most powerful, the smartest one, the richest one, the most popular… These fruits cannot transform people’s hearts.The fruits that come from God have the power to transform people’s lives. They give peace & hope.
The fruit of Mary gave us peace, hope, & salvation.

4- We have an unborn child: This unborn child has a vocation, a message, a mission: “He will be great”; “He will be called Son of the Most High”; He will be holy”.

Dear God,
I am ready to receive good news.
I am ready to build a dialogue with you.
I want to remain in union with you.
I want to take care of my “unborn” fruit that will change people’s lives.
I say with my mother Mary: “I am the servant of the Lord. Let it happen to me as you have said”. Amen. 

 

One Response to The Daily Maronite: The Announcement to the Virgin Mary

  1. [...] The Daily Maronite: The Announcement to the Virgin MaryI want to remain in union with you. I want to take care of my “unborn” fruit that will change people’s lives. I say with my mother Mary: “I am the servant of the Lord. Let it happen to me as you have said”. Amen. posted by Fr. Antonio.The Black Cordelias – http://theblackcordelias.wordpress.com [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

